Team

At Othoz, creative minds from the disciplines of finance, computer and data science as well as mathematics, physics and neuroscience work together to create added value for our clients in capital markets.

Dr. Mathias Eitz
Managing Partner
Biography

Dr. Mathias Eitz

Mathias Eitz is co-founder and managing partner of Othoz. In addition to strategic corporate development, he is responsible in particular for the areas of Machine Learning Research and Software Engineering.

Mathias has founded and built several companies in the fields of software and artificial intelligence. He has 20 years of experience in professional software development and 10 years of experience in machine learning.

Mathias holds a PhD in Computer Science from the Technische Universität Berlin (TU Berlin), a Diploma in Computer Science from the TU Berlin and a Master of Engineering from Shanghai Jiao Tong University. In addition to his work at the TU Berlin, Mathias has been a guest researcher at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Massachusetts, US) and Brown University (Rhode Island, US). Mathias has published several widely cited research articles on the interface between computer vision and machine learning and has served as a reviewer for numerous scientific journals.

Dr. Daniel Willmann
Managing Partner
Biography

Dr. Daniel Willmann

Daniel Willmann is co-founder and managing partner of Othoz and the first point of contact for our clients. In addition to strategic corporate development, he is particularly responsible for product design and fund management.

Daniel gained professional experience in various professional services organizations in Munich, Frankfurt and London and worked as a research assistant and lecturer at the RWTH Aachen University.

Daniel studied economics with a focus on financial accounting and empirical asset pricing at WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management (Vallendar, DE), the Stephen M. Ross School of Business (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, US) and the London School of Economics and Political Science (London, UK). He received his doctorate from RWTH Aachen University (Aachen, DE) and was a visiting researcher at Wharton Business School (University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, US). Daniel is a recipient of the Anthony Hopwood Award of the London School of Economics for academic achievement and has published several articles on his empirical financial market research.

Dr. Peter Oertmann
Partner
Biography

Dr. Peter Oertmann

Peter Oertmann is an active shareholder and partner of Othoz. Together with the management team, he designs the investment processes and is jointly responsible for strategic corporate development and product design.

Peter has more than 30 years of experience in the capital market and is committed to innovation in the financial industry as an entrepreneur, mentor and consultant. He has built up several companies and has spent many years in management positions (CEO, CIO, Board of Directors) at supervised asset management companies in Germany, Switzerland and Luxembourg as well as on investment committees of institutional investors and family businesses.

Peter holds a doctorate in economics (finance) from the University of St. Gallen (HSG), a Master of Arts in Economics from Terry College of Business, University of Georgia, USA, and a degree in business administration from the University of Bielefeld. In addition to his professional commitments, he is a lecturer for International Finance and Asset Management at the Technical University of Munich (TUM) and the University of Basel. He is also a member of the board of INQUIRE Europe and the Munich Finance Forum e.V. as well as a member of the Swiss Society for Financial Market Research. He has published two books and more than 30 professional articles on asset pricing, portfolio management and quantitative investment strategies.

Ronald Richter
Principal Machine Learning Engineer
Biography

Ronald Richter

Ronald Richter is co-founder of Othoz and works as Principal Machine Learning Engineer. He is jointly responsible for the new and further development of our machine learning models as well as the necessary software and data infrastructure.

Ronald studied computer science at the Technical University of Berlin (Berlin, DE) and graduated with a degree in computer science. He then worked for five years as a research associate and during this time did research in particular in the fields of Computational Geometry and Computer Vision. He is author and co-author of several articles in international journals.

Ronald can draw on a wealth of experience of over 20 years in professional software development. One focus of his work has always been the analysis of highly complex systems and the design and implementation of clearly structured and at the same time high-performance software systems.

Julien Florian Jensen
Executive Director
Biography

Julien Florian Jensen

Julien Florian Jensen is Executive Director at Othoz and jointly responsible for business development and fund management.

Julien has already co-founded and developed the asset management boutique KJL Capital GmbH, Frankfurt, which has a product partnership with Othoz. Prior to this, he gained professional experience in investment banking (equity derivatives trading/risk management) and asset management (portfolio management) in Frankfurt, Zurich and Hong Kong.

Julien studied economics at WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management (Vallendar, DE), HEC Genève (Geneva, CH) and NEOMA Business School (Reims, Paris, FR).

David Dümig
Portfolio Manager
Biography

David Dümig

David Dümig is Portfolio Manager at Othoz and works in the areas of fund management and quantitative research.

David has more than 10 years of professional experience in asset management. He has gained extensive experience in the management of investment funds and overlay mandates and in the development of quantitative investment strategies and processes. As part of his professional activities, he has also been scientifically engaged in the application of machine learning for the selection of securities.

David holds a master's degree from the Frankfurt School of Finance and Management (Frankfurt, DE) and also studied at King's College (London, GB), the London School of Economics and Political Science (London, GB) and Stanford University (California, USA) as part of his academic education. In addition, he completed a Bachelor Professional of Banking from the Frankfurt School of Finance and Management (Frankfurt, DE) and a vocational training as Banking Professional at the Chamber of Industry and Commerce (Offenbach, DE). David was honoured for his academic achievements as best in class for the Bachelor Professional of Banking, the Bachelor in Banking and Finance, and the Vocational Training as Banking Professional, and received the Germany Scholarship and the Frankfurt School Alumni Scholarship.

Dr. Benjamin Trendelkamp-Schroer
Senior Machine Learning Engineer
Biography

Dr. Benjamin Trendelkamp-Schroer

Benjamin Trendelkamp-Schroer works as Senior Machine Learning Engineer at Othoz. He is jointly responsible for the new and further development of our machine learning models and the design of algorithms for financial market analyses.

He received his PhD from the Institute of Mathematics at the Free University of Berlin (Berlin, DE) and the Berlin Mathematical School (Berlin, DE) on statistical methods for rare events in protein dynamics and Markov State models.

Benjamin holds a degree in physics from the Technical University of Dresden (Saxony, DE) where he did research on quantum information and open quantum systems and was a visiting scientist at the University of California Santa Cruz (California, USA).

Benjamin is co-author of the Python open source frameworks msmtools and pyemma for the statistical analysis of protein dynamics and has published several articles on quantum information and rare event estimation.

Dr. Pierre-Yves Bourguignon
Senior Machine Learning Engineer
Biography

Dr. Pierre-Yves Bourguignon

Pierre-Yves Bourguignon is a Senior Machine Learning Engineer at Othoz. He is jointly responsible for the new and further development of our machine learning models and the design and implementation of our data processing processes.

Pierre-Yves received his doctorate in probabilistics and statistics from the Universities of Paris XI and Evry Val d'Essonne (Paris, FRA). He developed a new family of Markov models and has published several papers on inference, analysis of biological sequences and network theory. He studied statistics, econometrics and quantitative finance at ENSAE-ParisTech (Paris, FRA).

From 2002 Pierre-Yves worked in the fields of Bayesian statistics and bioinformatics as a researcher at the CEA (Research Centre for Nuclear Energy, Evry, FRA) and at the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences (Leipzig, DE). He taught theoretical statistics and bioinformatics at ENSAE ParisTech and University Paris VII (Paris, FRA). In 2012 he became scientific director and managing director of the biotechnology company Isthmus SARL and in 2016 founded a consulting firm for evolutionary bioinformatics in Berlin.

Dr. Matthias Grawinkel
Senior Software Engineer
Biography

Dr. Matthias Grawinkel

Matthias Grawinkel is a Senior Software Engineer at Othoz. He is jointly responsible for the design and implementation of the software and data infrastructure as well as for the operation of the cloud infrastructure.

Matthias graduated with a Master of Computer Science from the University of Paderborn (Paderborn, DE). He then worked as a research assistant at the Paderborn Center for Parallel Computing (PC2) at the University of Paderborn and the Center for Data Processing at the University of Mainz (Mainz, DE). His research included energy-efficient, high-availability data storage for long-term archives and high-performance distributed storage systems for supercomputers. Matthias has published several articles in his research area internationally. His research results were used to develop an energy-efficient storage system and to set up a central platform for long-term archiving of research data.

Matthias has over 15 years of experience in professional software development and the operation of complex software systems. Most recently, he worked for several years as a software engineer for an international provider of software-defined storage infrastructures, where he was one of the first employees to be responsible for the architecture and implementation of several core components of the product.

Dr. Valentin Markounikau
Senior Software Engineer
Biography

Dr. Valentin Markounikau

Valentin Markounikau is a Senior Software Engineer at Othoz. He is jointly responsible for the development of the general software infrastructure and in particular for the analysis tools for monitoring strategy performance.

Valentin holds a master's degree in physics from the Belarusian State University (Minsk, BY) and a doctorate in neuroscience from the Ruhr University Bochum (Bochum, DE). During his doctoral studies, Valentin did research in the field of Computational Neuroscience with a focus on computational models of visual information processing. He has published the results of his research in an internationally recognized scientific journal.

Valentin has over 15 years of experience in professional software development for the automotive and medical industries as well as international financial services companies. Valentin's specialty is high throughput backend applications that are both efficient and easy to maintain. Most recently, Valentin was responsible for the development of the energy trading and risk management functions for an energy trading company.

Philipp Wiesner
Software Engineer
Biography

Philipp Wiesner

Philipp Wiesner works as a software engineer at Othoz. He is jointly responsible for the general development of the Othoz software platform and the continuous expansion of our test infrastructure.

Philipp studied Media Computer Science at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich (Munich, DE) and Computer Science at the Technical University Berlin (Berlin, DE), each with a focus on System Quality Engineering and the development of distributed systems.

Philipp has over seven years of experience in professional software development. He has specialized in particular in the interface between Machine Learning Research and Software Engineering. Philipp also has a strong academic and practical background in implementing modern best practices in software development and quality assurance.

Philipp is co-author of a scientific article about the visualization of random forest models and author of the corresponding open source software RFVis.

Advisors

Prof. Dr. Maximilian Müller
Academic Advisor
Biography

Prof. Dr. Maximilian Müller

Maximilian Müller is an advisor at Othoz and forms a point of contact with current financial market research. He supports the team especially with his data and research expertise.

Max has more than 10 years of research experience and has published several empirical articles in the most prestigious finance and accounting journals. He is currently a professor at ESMT Berlin, a Financial Times Top 10 European Business School. Prior to that, he was Professor at WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management and visiting scholar at the University of Chicago School of Business as a scholarship holder of the German Academic Exchange Service. His research and teaching has received several awards. He acts as a reviewer in renowned professional journals and supports, among others, Dax companies in the further education of executives.

Max holds a PhD in Economics from WHU, was a Marie Curie Scholar of the European Commission at the University of Tilburg during his doctoral studies and holds a degree in Business Administration from the University of Mannheim.

Dr. Werner Brandt
Advisor
Biography

Dr. Werner Brandt

Dr. Werner Brandt is a partner and advisor of Othoz. He supports the management team in corporate governance and strategic corporate development.

He is Chairman of the Supervisory Board of RWE AG, Essen and ProSiebenSat.1 Media SE, Unterföhring, and a member of the Supervisory Board of Siemens AG, Munich. From 2001 to 2014 he was Chief Financial Officer of SAP SE, where he also served as Chief Human Resources Officer and Director of Labor Relations for the last three years. From 1999 to 2001 he was a member of the Management Board and Chief Financial Officer of Fresenius Medical Care AG, where he was also Labor Relations Director. From 1992 to 1999, he was a member of the Management Board and Vice President European Operations of Baxter Deutschland GmbH. There he was responsible for Baxter's finances in Europe.

He began his professional career at Price Waterhouse (now PricewaterhouseCoopers) in Stuttgart. In 1981, he completed his studies in business administration at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg. He completed his doctorate at the TU Darmstadt in 1991.

Dr. Sebastian Klein
Advisor
Biography

Dr. Sebastian Klein

Sebastian Klein is a partner and advisor of Othoz. He supports the management team in strategic corporate development.

Sebastian has more than 25 years of experience in the financial industry. This includes positions at one of the leading management consultancies, operational CEO positions in the asset management and private banking sector and several supervisory board mandates. In particular, Sebastian Klein combines strategy and capital market expertise. He already pursued this combination during his doctorate, which he completed along with his business administration studies at WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management (Vallendar, DE).

Prof. Dr. Edgar Ernst
Advisor
Biography

Prof. Dr. Edgar Ernst

Prof. Dr. Edgar Ernst is a partner and advisor of Othoz.

Ernst studied Mathematics at the University of Cologne and Operations Research at the RWTH Aachen University. In 1982 he was awarded his doctorate (Dr. rer. pol.) at the RWTH Aachen University. He began his professional career in 1983 with McKinsey & Company. In 1986 he joined Quelle as Director of Corporate Development. In 1990, he moved to Deutsche Bundespost Postdienst, where he was Chief Financial Officer of Deutsche Post AG from 1992 to 2007. During this period, Deutsche Post and its then subsidiary Postbank went public. There he was responsible for more than 100 acquisitions. Since 2003 he has been teaching at WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management (Vallendar, DE). He is also a member of the Supervisory Boards of TUI AG, METRO AG and VONOVIA SE. Ernst has been President of the German Financial Reporting Enforcement Panel since 2011.

Team

Bei Othoz arbeiten kreative Köpfe aus den Disziplinen Finance, Computer und Data Science sowie Mathematik, Physik und Neurowissenschaften zusammen, um für unsere Kunden an Kapitalmärkten Mehrwerte zu erschließen.

Dr. Mathias Eitz
Managing Partner
Biographie

Dr. Mathias Eitz

Mathias Eitz ist Mitgründer und Managing Partner von Othoz. Neben der strategischen Unternehmensentwicklung verantwortet er insbesondere die Bereiche Machine Learning Research und Software Engineering.

Mathias hat mehrere Unternehmen in den Bereichen Software und Künstliche Intelligenz gegründet und aufgebaut. Er verfügt über 20 Jahre Erfahrung in der professionellen Softwareentwicklung und über 10 Jahre Erfahrung im Bereich Maschinelles Lernen.

Mathias hat einen Doktortitel in Informatik der Technischen Universität Berlin (TU Berlin), ein Diplom in Informatik der TU Berlin und einen Master of Engineering der Shanghai Jiao Tong University. Neben seiner Tätigkeit an der TU Berlin war Mathias als Gastwissenschaftler am Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Massachusetts, US) und der Brown University (Rhode Island, US) tätig. Mathias hat mehrere, viel zitierte Forschungsartikel an der Schnittstelle zwischen Computer Vision und Machine Learning veröffentlicht und war als Gutachter für zahlreiche wissenschaftliche Zeitschriften tätig.

Dr. Daniel Willmann
Managing Partner
Biographie

Dr. Daniel Willmann

Daniel Willmann ist Mitgründer und Managing Partner von Othoz und der erste Ansprechpartner für unsere Kunden. Neben der strategischen Unternehmensentwicklung verantwortet er insbesondere die Bereiche Produktdesign und Fondsmanagement.

Daniel sammelte berufliche Erfahrungen in unterschiedlichen Professional-Services- Organisationen in München, Frankfurt und London und war als wissenschaftlicher Assistent und Lehrbeauftragter an der RWTH Aachen tätig.

Daniel studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaften mit Schwerpunkten in Financial Accounting und Empirical Asset Pricing an der WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management (Vallendar, DE), der Stephen M. Ross School of Business (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, US) und der London School of Economics and Political Science (London, UK). Er promovierte an der RWTH Aachen University (Aachen, DE) und war als Gastwissenschaftler an der Wharton Business School (University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, US) tätig. Daniel ist Preisträger des Anthony Hopwood Awards der London School of Economics für akademische Leistungen und er hat mehrere Artikel über seine empirische Finanzmarktforschung veröffentlicht.

Dr. Peter Oertmann
Partner
Biographie

Dr. Peter Oertmann

Peter Oertmann ist aktiver Gesellschafter und Partner von Othoz. Er gestaltet zusammen mit dem Führungsteam die Investmentprozesse und ist mitverantwortlich für die strategische Unternehmensentwicklung und das Produktdesign.

Peter verfügt über mehr als 30 Jahre Erfahrung am Kapitalmarkt und engagiert sich als Unternehmer, Mentor und Berater für Innovationen in der Finanzindustrie. Er hat mehrere Unternehmen aufgebaut und war langjährig in Führungspositionen (CEO, CIO, Verwaltungsrat) bei beaufsichtigten Asset Management-Gesellschaften in Deutschland, der Schweiz und Luxemburg sowie auch in Anlagekomitees von institutionellen Anlegern und Familienunternehmen tätig.

Peter hat einen Doktortitel in Wirtschaftswissenschaften (Finance) der Universität St. Gallen (HSG), einen Master of Arts in Economics des Terry College of Business, University of Georgia, USA, und einen Abschluss als Diplom-Kaufmann der Universität Bielefeld. Neben seinen beruflichen Engagements ist er Lehrbeauftragter für International Finance und Asset Management an der Technischen Universität München (TUM) und der Universität Basel. Darüber hinaus ist er Mitglied des Vorstands von INQUIRE Europe und des Münchner Finance Forum e.V. sowie Mitglied der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Finanzmarktforschung. Er hat zwei Bücher und mehr als 30 Fachartikel über Asset Pricing, Portfoliomanagement und quantitative Anlagestrategien veröffentlicht.

Ronald Richter
Principal Machine Learning Engineer
Biographie

Ronald Richter

Ronald Richter ist Mitgründer von Othoz und als Principal Machine Learning Engineer tätig. Er ist mitverantwortlich für die Neu- und Weiterentwicklung unserer Machine Learning-Modelle sowie der dazu notwendigen Software- und Dateninfrastruktur.

Ronald studierte an der Technischen Universität Berlin (Berlin, DE) Informatik und schloss sein Studium mit dem Titel Diplom-Informatiker ab. Anschließend war er fünf Jahre als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter tätig und hat während dieser Zeit insbesondere in den Bereichen Computational Geometry und Computer Vision geforscht. Er ist Erst- und Mitautor mehrer Fachartikel in internationalen Journals.

Ronald kann auf einen Erfahrungsschatz von über 20 Jahren in der professionellen Softwareentwicklung zurückgreifen. Ein Fokuspunkt seiner Arbeit war dabei stets die Analyse von hochkomplexen Systemen und der Entwurf als auch die Implementierung von klar strukturierten und gleichzeitig performanten Softwaresystemen.

Julien Florian Jensen
Executive Director
Biographie

Julien Florian Jensen

Julien Florian Jensen ist Executive Director bei Othoz und mitverantwortlich für die Bereiche Business Development und Fondsmanagement.

Julien hat bereits die Asset Management Boutique KJL Capital GmbH, Frankfurt, mitgegründet und aufgebaut, die mit Othoz in einer Produktpartnerschaft steht. Zuvor sammelte er berufliche Erfahrungen im Investment Banking (Equity Derivatives Trading/ Risk Management) und Asset Management (Portfolio Management) in Frankfurt, Zürich und Hong Kong.

Julien studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management (Vallendar, DE), der HEC Genève (Genf, CH) und der NEOMA Business School (Reims, Paris, FR).

David Dümig
Portfolio Manager
Biographie

David Dümig

David Dümig ist Portfolio Manager bei Othoz und arbeitet in den Bereichen Fondsmanagement und Quantitative Research.

David verfügt über mehr als 10 Jahre Berufserfahrung im Asset Management. Er sammelte umfangreiche Erfahrungen in der Verwaltung von Investmentfonds und Overlay-Mandaten sowie in der Entwicklung von quantitativen Anlagestrategien und -prozessen. Im Rahmen seiner beruflichen Tätigkeiten setzte er sich auch wissenschaftlich mit der Anwendung von Machine Learning für die Selektion von Wertpapieren auseinander.

David hat einen Masterabschluss von der Frankfurt School of Finance and Management (Frankfurt, DE) und studierte im Rahmen seiner akademischen Ausbildung zudem am King’s College (London, GB), der London School of Economics and Political Science (London, GB) und der Stanford University (Kalifornien, US). Darüber hinaus erwarb er einen Bankfachwirt an der Frankfurt School of Finance and Management (Frankfurt, DE) und eine Bankausbildung an der IHK (Offenbach, DE). David wurde für seine akademischen Leistungen als Jahrgangsbester der Bankausbildung, des Bankfachwirts und des Bachelorstudiums ausgezeichnet sowie mit dem Deutschlandstipendium und dem Frankfurt School Alumni Stipendium geehrt.

Hannah Kölsch
Business Development Assistant
Biographie

Hannah Kölsch

Hannah ist als Business Development Assistant bei Othoz tätig und die erste Ansprechpartnerin für unsere Netzwerkpartner. Sie übernimmt Verantwortung und Aufgaben in den Bereichen Marketing, Personal, Administration und Datenschutz.

Hannah ist eine systemische Organisationsberaterin und Facilitatorin mit einem Fokus auf wirkungsorientierte Strategieentwicklung und kollaborative Managementformate. Sie engagiert sich leidenschaftlich dafür, Menschen und Organisationen auf dem Weg zu ihren Zielen zu unterstützen.

Hannah sammelte berufliche Erfahrungen in juristischen und wissenschaftlichen Professional-Services-Organisationen und arbeitete als Vorstandsassistentin bei einem renommierten Finanzdienstleister. Ein Schwerpunkt ihrer Tätigkeit lag hier auf der Entwicklung und Umsetzung innovativer Dienstleistungskonzepte. Den Schwerpunkt ihres betriebswirtschaftlichen Studiums legte Sie im Gesundheitsmanagement.

Dr. Benjamin Trendelkamp-Schroer
Senior Machine Learning Engineer
Biographie

Dr. Benjamin Trendelkamp-Schroer

Benjamin Trendelkamp-Schroer ist als Senior Machine Learning Engineer bei Othoz tätig. Er ist mitverantwortlich für die Neu- und Weiterentwicklung unserer Machine Learning-Modelle und die Konzeption von Algorithmen für Finanzmarktanalysen.

Er promovierte am Institut für Mathematik an der Freien Universität Berlin (Berlin, DE) und der Berlin Mathematical School (Berlin, DE) über statistische Methoden für Rare Events in der Proteindynamik und Markov State Modelle.
Benjamin hat ein Diplom in Physik der Technischen Universität Dresden (Sachsen, DE) und forschte dort zu Quanteninformation und offenen Quantensystemen und war als Gastwissenschaftler an der University of California Santa Cruz (California, USA) tätig.

Benjamin ist Mitautor der Python Open Source Frameworks msmtools und pyemma für die statistische Analyse von Proteindynamik und hat mehrere Fachartikel zu den Themen Quanteninformation und Rare Event Estimation veröffentlicht.

Dr. Pierre-Yves Bourguignon
Senior Machine Learning Engineer
Biographie

Dr. Pierre-Yves Bourguignon

Pierre-Yves Bourguignon ist als Senior Machine Learning Engineer bei Othoz tätig. Er ist mitverantwortlich für die Neu- und Weiterentwicklung unserer Machine Learning-Modelle und die Konzeption und Implementierung unserer Datenverarbeitungsprozesse.

Pierre-Yves promovierte im Bereich Probabilistik und Statistik an den Universitäten Paris XI und Evry Val d’Essonne (Paris, FRA). Dabei entwickelte er eine neue Familie von Markov Modellen und hat mehrere Fachartikel zu den Themen Inferenz, Analyse von biologischen Sequenzen und Netzwerktheorie publiziert. Er studierte Statistik, Ökonometrie und Quantitative Finance an der ENSAE-ParisTech (Paris, FRA).

Ab 2002 war Pierre-Yves in den Bereichen bayessche Statistik und Bioinformatik als Forscher am CEA (Forschungszentrum für Kernenergie, Evry, FRA) und am Max-Planck-Institut für Mathematik in den Naturwissenschaften (Leipzig, DE) tätig. Er lehrte theoretische Statistik und Bioinformatik an der ENSAE ParisTech und Universität Paris VII (Paris, FRA). 2012 wurde er wissenschaftlicher Direktor und Geschäftsführer der Biotechnologie Firma Isthmus SARL und gründete 2016 ein Beratungsunternehmen für evolutionäre Bioinformatik in Berlin.

Dr. Matthias Grawinkel
Senior Software Engineer
Biographie

Dr. Matthias Grawinkel

Matthias Grawinkel ist als Senior Software Engineer bei Othoz tätig. Er ist mitverantwortlich für die Konzeption und Implementierung der Software- und Dateninfrastruktur sowie für den Betrieb der Cloudinfrastruktur.

Matthias schloss sein Studium mit dem Master of Computer Science der Universität Paderborn (Paderborn, DE) ab. Darauf arbeitete er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Paderborn Center for Parallel Computing (PC2) der Universität Paderborn und dem Zentrum für Datenverarbeitung der Universität Mainz (Mainz, DE). Seine Forschung umfasste die energieeffiziente, hochverfügbare Speicherung von Daten für Langzeitarchive und hochperformante, verteilte Speichersysteme für Supercomputer. Matthias hat mehrere Fachartikel in seinem Forschungsgebiet international publiziert. Seine Forschungsergebnisse flossen in die Entwicklung eines energieeffizienten Speichersystems und den Aufbau einer zentralen Plattform zur Langzeitarchivierung von Forschungsdaten ein.

Matthias hat insgesamt über 15 Jahre Erfahrung in der professionellen Softwareentwicklung und mit dem Betrieb komplexer Softwaresysteme. Zuletzt war er mehrere Jahre als Software Engineer bei einem internationalen Anbieter für softwaredefinierte Speicher-Infrastrukturen tätig und hat dort als einer der ersten Mitarbeiter die Architektur und Implementierung mehrerer Kernkomponenten des Produktes mitverantwortet.

Dr. Valentin Markounikau
Senior Software Engineer
Biographie

Dr. Valentin Markounikau

Valentin Markounikau ist als Senior Software Engineer bei Othoz tätig. Er ist mitverantwortlich für die Entwicklung der generellen Softwareinfrastruktur sowie insbesondere für die Analyse-Tools zur Überwachung der Strategieperformance.

Valentin hat einen Master-Abschluss in Physik der Weißrussischen Staatsuniversität (Minsk, BY) und einen Doktortitel in Neurowissenschaften der Ruhr-Universität Bochum (Bochum, DE). Im Rahmen seiner Promotion hat Valentin im Bereich Computational Neuroscience mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Rechenmodelle der visuellen Informationsverarbeitung geforscht. Die Ergebnisse seiner Forschungsarbeit hat er in einer international anerkannten Fachzeitschrift veröffentlicht.

Valentin besitzt über 15 Jahre Erfahrung in der professionellen Softwarentwicklung sowohl für die Automobil- und Medizinbranche als auch internationale Finanzdienstleistungsunternehmen. Valentins Spezialgebiet sind High-Throughput Backend-Anwendungen die sowohl effizient als auch gut wartbar sind. Zuletzt hat Valentin unter anderem die Entwicklung der Energiehandels- und Risikomanagementfunktionen für ein Energiehandelsunternehmen mitverantwortet.

Dr. Anton Daneyko
Senior Software Engineer
Biographie

Dr. Anton Daneyko

Anton Daneyko ist als Senior Software-Engineer bei Othoz tätig. Er ist mitverantwortlich für das Design und die Implementierung der Software- und Dateninfrastruktur.

Anton Daneyko hat ein Diplom in Physik von der Belarussischen Staatlichen Universität (Minsk, BY) und einen Doktortitel in Computerphysik von der Philipps-Universität Marburg (Marburg, DE). Während seiner Promotion implementierte Anton Hydrodynamik-Simulationssoftware für Supercomputing-Plattformen (HPC) und nutzte diese zur Datengenerierung für seine wissenschaftlichen Publikationen. Seine wissenschaftlichen Ergebnisse wurden in einer Reihe von Artikeln in verschiedenen Fachzeitschriften mit hohem Impact-Faktor veröffentlicht.

Anton verfügt über 15 Jahre Erfahrung in der professionellen Softwareentwicklung mit einer technischen Expertise, die von Web-Anwendungen in der Finanzindustrie bis zum Hochleistungsrechnen im Ingenieurwesen reicht. Sein Spezialgebiet ist die Leistungsoptimierung (algorithmisch und hardwaremäßig) sowie die statistische Verarbeitung großer Datenmengen. Zuletzt hat Anton unter anderem die Entwicklung der Energiehandels- und Risikomanagement-Plattform für ein Energiehandelsunternehmen mitverantwortet.

Advisors

Prof. Dr. Maximilian Müller
Academic Advisor
Biographie

Prof. Dr. Maximilian Müller

Maximilian Müller ist Advisor bei Othoz und bildet einen Kontaktpunkt zur aktuellen Finanzmarktforschung. Er unterstützt das Team insbesondere mit seiner Daten- und Forschungsexpertise.

Max verfügt über mehr als 10 Jahre Erfahrung in der Forschung und hat mehrere empirische Artikel in den prestigeträchtigsten Finance und Accounting Journals veröffentlicht. Er ist derzeit als Professor an der ESMT Berlin tätig, einer Financial Times Top 10 European Business School. Davor war er Professor an der WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management und Gastwissenschaftler an der University of Chicago School of Business als Stipendiat des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes. Seine Forschung und Lehre ist mehrmals prämiert worden. Er fungiert als Gutachter in renommierten Fachzeitschriften und unterstützt u.a. Dax-Konzerne in der Weiterbildung von Führungskräften.

Max hat einen Doktortitel der Wirtschaftswissenschaften von der WHU, war während der Promotion als Marie Curie Stipendiat der Europäischen Kommission an der Universität Tilburg und hat einen Abschluss als Diplom-Kaufmann der Universität Mannheim.

Dr. Werner Brandt
Advisor
Biographie

Dr. Werner Brandt

Dr. Werner Brandt ist Gesellschafter und Advisor von Othoz. Er unterstützt das Führungsteam im Bereich Corporate Governance und bei der strategischen Unternehmensentwicklung.

Er ist Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender der RWE AG, Essen und der ProSiebenSat.1 Media SE, Unterföhring, sowie Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats der Siemens AG, München. Von 2001 bis 2014 war er Finanzvorstand der SAP SE wo er in den letzten drei Jahren seiner Tätigkeit außerdem als Personalvorstand und Arbeitsdirektor des Unternehmens tätig war. Von 1999 bis 2001 war er Mitglied des Vorstands und Finanzvorstand der Fresenius Medical Care AG, wo er auch Arbeitsdirektor war. Von 1992 bis 1999 war er Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung und Vice President European Operations der Baxter Deutschland GmbH. Dort war er für die Finanzen von Baxter in Europa verantwortlich.

Seine berufliche Karriere begann er bei Price Waterhouse (heute PricewaterhouseCoopers) in Stuttgart. 1981 schloss er sein Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg ab. Seine Promotion schloss er an der TU Darmstadt im Jahr 1991 ab.

Dr. Sebastian Klein
Advisor
Biographie

Dr. Sebastian Klein

Sebastian Klein ist Gesellschafter und Advisor von Othoz. Er unterstützt das Führungsteam bei der strategischen Unternehmensentwicklung.

Sebastian verfügt über mehr als 25 Jahre Erfahrung in der Finanzindustrie. Diese umfasst u.a. Stationen bei einer der führenden Managementberatungen, operative CEO Positionen im Asset Management und Privatbankbereich sowie mehrere Aufsichtsratsmandate. Sebastian Klein verknüpft dabei insbesondere Strategie- und Kapitalmarktexpertise. Diese Verknüpfung hat er bereits bei seiner Promotion verfolgt, die er ebenso wie sein Betriebswirtschaftsstudium an der WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management (Vallendar, DE) absolvierte.

Prof. Dr. Edgar Ernst
Advisor
Biographie

Prof. Dr. Edgar Ernst

Prof. Dr. Edgar Ernst ist Gesellschafter und Advisor von Othoz.

Ernst studierte Mathematik an der Universität zu Köln und Operations Research an der RWTH Aachen. 1982 wurde er an der RWTH Aachen zum Dr. rer. pol. promoviert. Seine berufliche Tätigkeit begann er im Jahr 1983 bei McKinsey & Company. 1986 ging er als Direktor Unternehmensentwicklung zum Großversandhaus Quelle. 1990 wechselte er zur Deutsche Bundespost Postdienst, wo er von 1992 bis 2007 Finanzvorstand der Deutsche Post AG war. In diesen Zeitraum fielen die Börsengänge der Post sowie des damaligen Tochterunternehmens Postbank. Dort war er u.a. für mehr als 100 Akquisitionen zuständig. Seit 2003 übt er eine Lehrtätigkeit an der WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management (Vallendar, DE) aus. Darüber hinaus ist er Mitglied in den Aufsichtsräten der TUI AG, METRO AG sowie der VONOVIA SE. Ernst ist seit 2011 Präsident der Deutsche Prüfstelle für Rechnungslegung e.V..